From backyard cricket to T20Is for India: Chahar brothers make it big

first_imgRahul Chahar’s name was the only surprise in the Indian T20I squad for the West Indies which was announced by BCCI chief selector MSK Prasad in Mumbai on Sunday.Chahar has been rewarded for his impressive performances in the Indian Premier League this season and was a revelation for the Mumbai Indians. He picked up 13 wickets from 13 matches this year at an impressive average of 23.69 with an economy rate of 6.55.19-year-old Rahul was the first-choice spinner for Mumbai Indians in the IPL this season ahead of mystery spinner Mayank Markande, who had a terrific season last year with 15 wickets from 14 games.Rahul will join his cousin brother Deepak Chahar in the Indian T20I squad. Deepak and Rahul Chahar played together in Agra before moving out to pursue cricket professionally.Three pairs of brothers have represented India in international cricket – Mohinder and Surinder Amarnath, Irfan and Yousuf Pathan, Hardik and Krunal Pandya.While Deepak has already played an ODI and a T20I for India, Rahul continues to impress with every opportunity he has got with Mumbai Indians and in domestic cricket so far.They both played a vital role for their respective franchises in the IPL this year with Chennai Super Kings’ opening bowler Deepak dismissing the Mumbai Indians leggie in the final.Rahul has so far played 14 first-class matches and picked up 63 wickets at 26.44 including 6 five-wicket hauls while in 24 List-A games he has got 42 wickets at 24.52. He is averaging 23.33 in T20 cricket with 27 scalps from 16 matches.advertisementDeepak on the other hand, had his best season in the IPL this year with 22 wickets in 17 matches at an average of 21.90 and gave away just 482 runs in the process. He was a key wicket-taking option for MS Dhoni with the new ball in the powerplay overs.India’s tour of the West Indies will begin with a three-match T20I series starting August 3. The teams will then play three ODIs and two Test matches between August 8-30. The two Test matches will be part of the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship.India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.Also Read | India tour of West Indies: Saha, Rohit back in India Test squad, Dhawan returns to ODI sideAlso Read | Legendary player like MS Dhoni knows when to retire: MSK PrasadAlso Read | Shikhar Dhawan back in ODI side, Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer includedlast_img